Coen Schenk

Coen Schenk  

Coen Schenk (NL) – Dankgesang

Coen Schenk über sein piano piece „Dankgesang“:

Solace and empathy are fundamental features for me in Beethoven’s oeuvre. While Beethoven was not easy as a person (not for himself nor his surroundings) and as he saw himself confronted with several major setbacks, most of his music speaks about strength and hope. And conveyed faith that man’s struggle in life will eventually triumph. The slow movements in Beethoven’s work are often surprisingly comforting, take for example the ‚Adagio un poco mosso‘ from the fifth piano concerto, the ‚Benedictus‘ from the ‚Missa Solemnis‘ or the ‚Heiliger Dankgesang eines Genesenen‘ from the 15th string quartet. I’ve used these compositions as a starting point for writing my composition Dankgesang, which is intended as a slow piece, similar to Beethoven’s essence.

Piano piece „Dankgesang“ – Aufführungen:

29. November 2018 – Uraufführung – Bundeskunsthalle Bonn – Susanne Kessel, Klavier

14. Dezember 2018 – Klavierhaus Klavins – Susanne Kessel, Klavier

Coen Schenk *1981

started to play an instrument at the age of nine and composing at the age of thirteen. After first completing an education in interior design, he turned to composition and studied successively at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague and the Academy of Music and Drama in Gothenburg, Sweden. Schenk’s work so far contains compositions for orchestra, large ensemble, chamber music and piano solo. His pieces are performed at festivals and concerts throughout Europe, China and the United States.